• Research topics

Research topics

As it is an art situated at the crossroad of many sciences such as biomedical and social sciences, within history and society, medicine naturally requires cross-disciplinary research. Modern medical evolutions have created the need of a new alliance between medicine and humanities, along the already existing alliance between medicine and sciences. Tensions between the art of treating and life sciences, between finding a cure and the promotion of health, between the person and the population, are not relatively new and thus makes medicine so specific, however they are exacerbated by the knowledge and practice transformations based on epidemiology and evidence-based medicine, by the evolution of political requests, economical logics and social needs, and finally by the new anthropological concepts of disease, health and care. In order to address the multiple norms and logics which traverse it, medicine needs to collaborate with History, Social Sciences, Philosophy, Epistemology, Ethics, as well as studies on art, Literature, Psychoanalysis and Law.

 

In order to enhance and increase practices and health policies, the programme does not focus the on « personalised Medicine », but focuses on modern aspects of the Person in Medicine. It aims at studying the modern subjectivation of patients, of their relatives and of medical professionals, more precisely the way these people are experiencing illness and medicine, see themselves, act and build their personal and social identities. The programme makes the following assumption: Subjectivation modes of patients and their relatives can only be analysed and understood in parallel with the subjectivation modes of medical professionals as they are closely associated with eachother. In order to understand the subjectivation modes of patients and their relatives, the Programme focuses on a modern anthropological aspect “Experiencing Chronic illness” (before birth, through easy access to personal biological & medical information, through prevention, in the management of chronic illness and following treatment, etc.). In order to address the subjectivation modes of medical professionals, a research topic of the programme will study History and News of their training – by questioning the place and role they have, in France and in the rest of world, SSH and Medical Humanities.

 

As regards the Methodology, the alliance Medicine/Humanities implies firstly the promotion of SSH researches in medicine, considered as object, and secondly, collaborative research implying SSH and biomedical sciences. Global analysis as well as local analysis conducted in close relationship with actors and practices are both needed. The programme multi-disciplinarity is based on a scientific committed stance aimed at renewing epistemological and ethical analysis in Medicine, by addressing them from two angles: on one hand Social sciences research, on the other hand innovative research conducted thanks to collaborations between Researchers in SSH and Researchers in Medicine.

 

Why multi & cross disciplinary researches on the Person in Medicine?

In order to improve the health practices and policies, the programme “The Person in Medicine” proposes research on contemporary figures of the person in medicine.  The programme studies the modern subjectivation of patients, their relatives and medical professionals, more precisely the ways these patients experience illness and Medicine, see themselves, act, and build their social and personal identities. The goal is to understand how a sick person experiences illness in Medicine and in the society, how this person pictures herself/himself as a psychic, social, ethical and political actor. In the same way the programme aims at studying the ways health professionals are trained, organise themselves, work and make decisions – what helps to understand how a sick person his/her relatives are understood and addressed.
The notion of subjectivation allows a dynamic description of patients and medical professionals’ lives, understood as subjects connected with relationships, organisations and institutions. By breaking with the conceptions of subjectivity as pure psychical interiority or as decision-making capacity, this notion allows us to consider subjectivity as an existential strategy or governance. It therefore emphasizes the ways patients, their relatives and medical professionals produce new subjectivities based on practices, speeches and by transforming them.

• Axes de recherche

Axes de recherche

Parce qu’elle est un art au carrefour de plusieurs sciences, tant biomédicales que sociales, s’inscrivant dans l’histoire et la société, la médecine requiert par nature des recherches pluridisciplinaires. Les évolutions médicales contemporaines rendent indispensable et urgente une nouvelle alliance entre médecine et humanités, complémentaire de l’alliance entre médecine et sciences. Les tensions entre art de soigner et science de la vie, recherche de la guérison et promotion de la santé, individu et population, ne sont guère nouvelles et font la spécificité de la médecine, mais sont exacerbées par la transformation des savoirs et des pratiques fondés sur l’épidémiologie et la médecine des preuves, par l’évolution des demandes politiques, des logiques économiques et des besoins sociaux, et enfin par les nouvelles conceptions anthropologiques de la maladie, de la santé et du soin. Afin de saisir les logiques et les normes multiples qui la traversent, la médecine a besoin de collaborer avec l’histoire, les sciences sociales, la philosophie, l’épistémologie, l’éthique mais aussi avec les recherches sur les arts et la littérature, la psychanalyse et le droit.

 

Dans un but de connaissance et d’amélioration des pratiques et des politiques de santé, le programme ne se concentre pas sur « la médecine personnalisée », mais porte, de manière plus large, sur les figures contemporaines de la personne en médecine. Il ambitionne d’étudier la subjectivation contemporaine des malades, de leur entourage et des professionnels de santé, c’est-à-dire les manières dont ces personnes font l’expérience de la maladie et de la médecine, se conçoivent, agissent, construisent leurs identités personnelles et sociales. Le programme avance en particulier l’hypothèse que les modes de subjectivation des patients et de leur entourage ne peuvent être analysés que conjointement aux modes de subjectivation des professionnels de santé, car ils s’influencent réciproquement. Pour saisir les modes de subjectivation des patients et de leur entourage, le programme se focalise sur l’une des caractéristiques anthropologiques contemporaines, constituant un enjeu de société majeur, qui consiste à « vivre la maladie à vie » (dès avant la naissance, à travers l’accès aisé aux informations biologiques et médicales personnelles, à travers la prévention, dans la gestion de la maladie chronique et de l’après traitement, etc.). Pour saisir les modes de subjectivation des professionnels de santé, un axe du programme se consacrera à l’histoire et l’actualité de leur formation – en interrogeant notamment la place et le rôle qu’y jouent, en France et dans le monde, SHS et humanités médicales.

 

Au plan méthodologique, l’alliance médecine/humanités implique de promouvoir tant des recherches en SHS sur la médecine, considérée comme objet, que des recherches collaboratives impliquant conjointement SHS et sciences biomédicales. Il est aussi besoin tant d’analyses globales que d’analyses locales menées au plus près des acteurs et pratiques. La pluridisciplinarité du programme repose sur un parti pris scientifique assumé qui vise à renouveler les analyses épistémologiques et éthiques en médecine, en les mettant au double défi, d’une part, des recherches des sciences sociales, et, d’autre part, de recherches novatrices menées ensemble par des chercheurs en SHS et en médecine.

 

Pourquoi des recherches pluri- et interdisciplinaires sur la personne en médecine ?

Afin de connaître et d’améliorer les pratiques et les politiques de santé, le programme « La Personne en médecine » propose des recherches sur les figures contemporaines de la personne en médecine. Il étudie la subjectivation contemporaine des malades, de leur entourage et des professionnels de santé, c’est-à-dire les manières dont ces personnes font l’expérience de la maladie et de la médecine, se conçoivent, agissent, construisent leurs identités personnelles et sociales.

Il s’agit de comprendre comment la personne malade expérimente la maladie à la fois dans la médecine et dans la société, comment elle s’y construit comme acteur psychique, social, éthique et politique. De la même manière, il s’agit d’étudier les manières dont les professionnels de santé se forment, s’organisent, travaillent et décident ensemble – ce qui éclaire les manières dont la personne malade et son entourage sont conçus, pris en charge et en compte.

La notion de subjectivation permet de décrire de manière dynamique la vie des patients et des professionnels de santé, comme des sujets enserrés dans des relations, des organisations et des institutions. En rompant avec les conceptions de la subjectivité comme pure intériorité psychique ou comme capacité décisionnelle, cette notion permet de penser la subjectivité comme stratégie d’existence et moyen de gouvernance. Elle met donc l’accent sur les manières dont les patients, leur entourage et les professionnels de santé produisent des subjectivités nouvelles en fonction des pratiques et des discours, et en les transformant.